• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 MaVericK

MaVericK

• PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 August 2006 - 11:05 AM

Hi folks,

I am a marketing engineer with Larsen & Toubro Ltd., India. We are currently dealing a lot with Soft Starters. I have noticed that in some makes , under/over voltage protection is provided along with earth fault protection. However, many other notable manufactures do not have these features.

In some of our tenders, in the spec sheet for soft starters, under/over voltage as well as earth fault protection is asked.

I would like to know whether such protection is essential for a soft starter. Also what purpose does this protection solve.
Can under/over current prtection serve the same purpose? unsure.gif

#2 marke

marke

Posting Freak

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,600 posts

Posted 23 August 2006 - 07:17 PM

Hello MaVericK

Welcome to the forum.

I have several friends from L&T, seems to be a great training ground for engineers who move to NZ!

There are two issues with the under voltage, over voltage and earth fault protection. One is potential problems with the motor, and the other is potential problems with the starter.

Motor.
  • Over Voltage will cause the motor to be overfluxed. This will cause a rapid increase in magnetising current, iron loss and a build up of heat in the motor.
  • Over voltage will cause a reduction in the work current drawn by the motor.
  • Undervoltage will reduce the flux in the motor. This will reduce the magnetising current and the maximum torque capacity of the motor.
  • Under voltage will cause the work component of the current drawn by the motor to be increased.
  • under voltage will increase the running slip of the motor.
Soft Starter
  1. Under voltage will at some point affect the operation of the electronics, typically will cause the firing of the SCRs to be less reliable.
  2. Overvoltage will stress power supply components i the soft starter