Jump to content


Photo

Receiving Fault Code Oc-a On Csd Series


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 key west aquarium

key west aquarium

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 07:46 PM

Hoping there's someone out there that can help us out! We have a CSD Series 220V 3.7KW controller which is working a 220V 2hp pool pump. After resetting the unit we received a fault code of OC-A and OC-S (Codes would change each time the controller was turned off and then turned on again.)

According to the manual it mentioned that the motor may be grounded or shorted out. We have moved this same motor to another CSD Series controller on another system and it works fine. We have ruled out that problem right from the start. My concern is the controller itself, I went through and reset all the functions to factory default and I'm still getting the same fault code.

Is there some other troubleshooting methods anyone can tell me to try?

Thanks in advance.

Greg

#2 jraef

jraef

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, California

Posted 30 October 2007 - 06:05 AM

If it is not the motor, it is the motor lead wires or the VFD itself. Disconnect the leads from the drive and try again. If the fault goes away, you have a grounded cable. If you still get the fault code, you have likely lost a transistor in the drive and it is toast. You can replace it, but getting it repaired will likely cost you as much or more. Those drives were brand-labeled by Motortronics but they no longer sell or support them. You can however still buy them under the original Teco name as their FM100 series from Factorymation.com FM100 link, click here for direct routing
They are exactly the same, just a different color.
"He's not dead, he's just pinin' for the fjords!"

#3 anu_rags

anu_rags

    Intermediate Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Vadodara

Posted 31 October 2007 - 05:43 AM

I had faced OC-A tripping problems on the latest Teco N3 series drives. Are you starting the drive in V/F mode or Vector mode? Ill suggest to do the ID run in Vector mode and put the rated motor speed as 98% of synchronous speed. If the ID run is OK and still the drive gives OC-A trips, then try to increase the Carrier frequency and check again. I hope it solves your problem otherwise there must be some transistor failure as Jreaf suggests.

Regards,
Anurag

#4 jraef

jraef

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, California

Posted 31 October 2007 - 02:09 PM

QUOTE(anu_rags @ Oct 30 2007, 10:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I had faced OC-A tripping problems on the latest Teco N3 series drives. Are you starting the drive in V/F mode or Vector mode? Ill suggest to do the ID run in Vector mode and put the rated motor speed as 98% of synchronous speed. If the ID run is OK and still the drive gives OC-A trips, then try to increase the Carrier frequency and check again. I hope it solves your problem otherwise there must be some transistor failure as Jreaf suggests.

Regards,
Anurag


Anurag (and Key West Aqu),
The Motortronics CSD / Teco FM100 is based on the old Taian N2 drive, not the N3. It is not a vector drive at all so that issue is not possible.

"He's not dead, he's just pinin' for the fjords!"




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users