Jump to content


Photo

Siemens Soft Start


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 cds9044

cds9044

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 December 2008 - 06:02 PM

Need help with Siemens 3RW3024-1AB14 soft start. After installation, we pushed start button and 480 volt motor will not work. We measured 280v from each phase to ground, but we are not getting 480v phase to phase. Incoming voltage is correct. Control voltage is 120v and motor is 5hp serving an overhead crane. This soft start is replacing a Benshaw LTS controller that has gone bad. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

#2 jraef

jraef

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, California

Posted 17 December 2008 - 07:17 AM

QUOTE (cds9044 @ Dec 16 2008, 10:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Need help with Siemens 3RW3024-1AB14 soft start. After installation, we pushed start button and 480 volt motor will not work. We measured 280v from each phase to ground, but we are not getting 480v phase to phase. Incoming voltage is correct. Control voltage is 120v and motor is 5hp serving an overhead crane. This soft start is replacing a Benshaw LTS controller that has gone bad. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,


Describe what you mean by "close the start button". What is the start button wired to?

On the 3RW30, you need to first close any upstream contactor, then you must also power control board and close the control circuit between control terminals A1 and IN1. You must also have the other half of your control circuit connected to control terminal A2. So for example if you are using 120V control, you would wire the hot of the 120V control power to A1, a Start / Run command between A1 and IN1, and the neutral to A2.
"He's not dead, he's just pinin' for the fjords!"

#3 cds9044

cds9044

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 December 2008 - 01:13 PM

QUOTE (jraef @ Dec 17 2008, 07:17 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Describe what you mean by "close the start button". What is the start button wired to?

On the 3RW30, you need to first close any upstream contactor, then you must also power control board and close the control circuit between control terminals A1 and IN1. You must also have the other half of your control circuit connected to control terminal A2. So for example if you are using 120V control, you would wire the hot of the 120V control power to A1, a Start / Run command between A1 and IN1, and the neutral to A2.



Thanks for your input. We didn't have control wiring connected properly and have corrected the problem. Works fine now.

#4 jraef

jraef

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, California

Posted 19 December 2008 - 11:42 PM

QUOTE (cds9044 @ Dec 17 2008, 05:13 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks for your input. We didn't have control wiring connected properly and have corrected the problem. Works fine now.

Glad to here it.
"He's not dead, he's just pinin' for the fjords!"




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users