4 replies to this topic

#1 Mathusalum

Mathusalum

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 September 2009 - 04:02 AM

Hello;
I'm new to this topic and have a few general questions.
(1) At our plant we have a wide variety of motors ranging from pumps to conveyors and vibrator units. The horsepower range is from 1 to 100 HP. Within this range is about 20 motors. What can be done to have a better power factor?

(2) At the moment, only a few of the motors utilize VFD's, mostly the smaller motors, Does the VFD's provide a better Power factor, or do they benefit in any way our power bill? Its my understanding that by slowly applying speed to the motor the inrush of high starting current is eliminated, is this true?

(3) Is it a favorable option to utilize Soft Starters on high HP motors to also eliminate high starting currents, thus lowering the power bill.

(4) Does Power Factor Capacitors really lower the power bill? Right now we are paying over $15,000 per month to the power company and we are attempting to lower this bill somewhat. Any Suggestions?

Thanks! blink.gif

#2 marke

marke

Posting Freak

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,604 posts

Posted 11 September 2009 - 07:25 AM

Hello Mathusalum

Welcome to the forum.

1) If the displacement power factor is less than 0.95, you can improve the power factor by the addition of power factor correction capacitors.
For more information see http://www.LMPhotonics.com/pwrfact.htm

2) VFDs have a displacement power factor of better than 0.95, but a distortion power factor that could be less than 0.8
The operation of a VFD on some machines will enable the speed of the machine to be optimised for best operating efficiency and save energy. The reduction in start current does not actually save money off the power bill.