Jump to content


Photo

Reactor


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Anivaldo

Anivaldo

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 February 2006 - 05:29 PM

Hello, im new in the forum and my english is bad, why some inverters needs a reactor (comutation reactor) on the input?

#2 marke

marke

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,601 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted 01 February 2006 - 05:50 PM

Hello Anivaldo

There are two types of reactors used with VSDs, DC Bus chokes and AC Line reactors.

The major purposes of these reactors are to reduce the harmonic content of the input current (improve distortion power factor) and to reduce the conducted EMC noise on the supply.

Some invertors have either of these reactors built in as standard, and others do not. The VSDs that do not include the reactors are smaller and cheaper, but will often require them to be mounted separately in order to comply with CE regulations.

Best regards,

#3 Anivaldo

Anivaldo

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 February 2006 - 06:30 PM

In my school we have some inverters that doesnt have the reactor, they are small like you say, the model is micromaster 440 and 420, manufactered by Siemens.
Tanks

#4 marke

marke

    Posting Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,601 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:07 PM

Hello Anivaldo

If you get an opportunity, have a look at the input current waveform and you will find that it is made up of short high amplitude current pulses on the crest of the waveform. This is due to the capacitive input filter. see http://www.lmphotoni.../vsd/vsd_03.htm
The addition of the reactor will stretch these pulses.

Best regards,




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users