Use Of Regen Drives For Var Correction

Matt303

I work as an elecrical engineer in the water and sewage treatment industry. In recent years many of the owners have intallated combined heat and power plants to take advantage of the bio-gas which is a by product of sewage digesters. These machines are mainly spark ignition gas engines and are often run by a third party company under an energy purchasing agreemnt. In the UK we have a scheme called ROC (renewable obligation certificates) which is essentially a carbon trading market. The power generated from these sets can be sold and the offset purchased as if imported onto the site. As the value of the ROC is higher than the imported power these sets are generally run in this offset mode.

Forgive this drawn out description but now I will get to the point. These sets run at a power factor of near unity. They therefore change the balance between kW and kVAr on the site. The tariff does not charge for VAr for a power factor above 0.95 inductive but as these sets effectively reduce the kW import but leave the reactive unaffected they bring down the power factor. Although the VAr imports are about the same the proportion is lower as a proportion of MVA and the site starts paying for them as the power factor <0.95. There is no option to export VAr from the sets as they are part of a third party agreement.

It has been suggested that as a large number of partly loaded regernerative variable speed drives are installed these could be used to export VAr (essentially run them with leading power factors) and this could correct the site power factor the right side of the threshold.

I don't really understand how this works it seems as if the drives operate a bit like 4 quadrant DC systems and I suppose could be used as an alternative to a DC system on a crane i.e. to provide regenerative braking. I have no idea if they could be used for PF correction or if this is worth looking at.

Is this a sensible proposition?